Low-fat Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMG_3746IMG_3749

Sorry, I just had to include two pictures because, I mean, who doesn’t want to see multiple pictures of chocolate-y goodness? Anyways, low-fat delicious cookies– is this an oxymoron? I thought so…until now! I’ve always been skeptical of low-fat cookies. I love that they have minimal butter, but come on…applesauce? HOW can you have applesauce in a cookie? They tend to make baked muffins and cupcakes gummy and extra moist (aka not a good look for a cookie). But this recipe works! I seriously think these are the best homemade cookies I’ve ever had. And they’re MUCH healthier than these cookies. Modified slightly from Skinnytaste’s cookies., here’s the recipe!

Recipe: (Makes 24)
1 cup all purpose flour
2 cups rolled oats
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
scant 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
2 tablespoons of butter (3/4 less than my other oatmeal cookies!!)
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 teaspoon vanilla
1.5 (or more, I used more teehee) cups chocolate chip

Preheat oven to 350 degrees
Whisk together flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, and salt
Cream butter, brown sugar, and white sugar
Add egg, vanilla, and applesauce
Mix well
Slowly add the dry ingredients into this mixture
Add in chocolate chips
Freeze mixture for about 20 minutes
Drop by heaping 2 tablespoonfuls
Bake for about 20 minutes or until they just start turning golden brown 🙂

The cookies are chewy, but with crunchy edges, and just scrumptious! And come on, they have 75% less butter than your traditional oatmeal chocolate cookies. Good swamp, if you ask me.

Enjoy 🙂

Write me a comment!!

