Ginger Oatmeal Baked Pear

IMG_3767

It’s a pear, I swear! I cut off too much of the top and it ended up looking like an apple. But, I promise, it’s a beautiful, ripe green pear! So, in my last baked apple post I told you all that I’ve been having baked apple problems. I’d like to add an addendum: not only am I having baked apple problems, but baked fruit problems in general. I always feel like a dessert is reallly a dessert once it’s been in the oven. Yeah, fudge, popsicles, and no-bake bars are all awesome desserts, but for me (because I’m super weird) desserts really get the name once they’ve done some oven time. So, baked fruits are quite dessert-y to me! Anyways, I was going to go for another oatmeal baked apple, but there was only one apple left. Gasp! So, the older sister in me decided to forego the baked apple and instead go with…a baked pear! I’m not sure if people baked pears…is that a thing? But holy moly, was it good! Ginger and pears is such a good combo! (I’m thinking it might be time to make a recipe for a ginger-pear cake!)

Recipe (1 lovely serving)
1 green pear
1 tablespoon of chopped candied ginger. I used Trader Joe’s uncrystallized candied ginger, but if you wanna go ahead and make your own try this recipe
2 tablespoons oatmeal
1 tablespoon fat-free milk
1 teaspoon agave or honey
1/8 teaspoon ginger powder
1/8 teaspoon cinnamon

Put in an oven-safe dish filled with 1/4 cup water and bake at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes!

Write me a comment!!

