Cranberry Couscous

IMG_4220

Sorry, the cranberry is back. Well, I’m not sure if I should apologize because…just look at that picture! I had some lovely cranberry sauce left over from Thanksgiving (I made way more than a fair share for each of us) and have been itching to make some cranberry couscous. Soooo, why not make it with cranberry jelly? And let me tell you, it it SO good. The sweetness from the caramelized onions and cranberries with the earthiness from the couscous and spinach make for quite the combination! Try it, try it, try it! It’s delicious both cold and warm! Oh, and scroll to the below article to see what I ate it with! (Yes, I’ve been trying to use the 2 page Jux article format…maybe next time I’ll use it in a step-by-step recipe tutorial?)

Serves 4 as a lovely sidedish
1 cup dry couscous, cooked per box instructions
1/2 red onion, cut into long strips
2 cups chopped spinach
1/2 cup cranberry sauce (I have a great recipe on the blog under sides!) or you can used canned
Salt
Pepper

Caramelize onions with salt and pepper
At the last minute, add in chopped spinach
Cook until soft, 1 minute
Add onions and spinach to cooked couscous and mix well
Add cranberry sauce into the warm couscous coating it
Adjust salt and pepper

And that’s it! Bet you didn’t think it could be that easy!
ENJOY 🙂

Write me a comment!!

