Zucchini Pizza Pinwheels

IMG_4245

Okay, so I didn’t just discover Pinterest, but I’m not ashamed to say I missed the craze by about, erm, a year. Pinterest is great for recipe-finding, great for discovering cool, new techniques, and above all the most lovely procrastination tool. I can’t begin to explain how much time I have spent on Pinterest as the sink fills dishes and my cursor on my essay blinks threateningly. Alas, it has brought me some return…in the form of these Zucchini Pizza Pinwheels! I kept coming across Pepperonni Peperonni GAH Pepperoni (I can never spell that word right…) Pizza Pinwheels. To lighten it up I decided to make Zucchini Pizza Pinwheels, slicing the zucchini into pepperoni-like slices. And, what better recipe for a step-by-step article than this! Scroll below for the steps!!

Recipe:
1 can pillsbury fat-free crescent rolls
1 small zucchini
1/3 cup feta cheese spread
1/3 cup chopped onions
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp italian seasoning
Salt

IMG_4224

Step 1
With a handy dandy mandolin, slice the zucchini into slices. My mandolin doesn’t have size attachments, but for those with size attachments here’s a picture of the approximate slice width.
Also, don’t mind my gross, unkempt nails.
IMG_4230
Step 2
Blanch zucchini so it does not release water into the crescent rolls while cooking in the oven.
Bring a pot of water to boil. Remember to generously salt the water, and add the zucchini, cooking for 1-2 minutes.
When done cooking, immediately drain.
IMG_4235
Step 3
Once drained, lay out flat on a paper towel. Press the top with a paper towel and try to get out as much water as possible.
Once dry, sprinkle garlic and italian seasonings.
IMG_4239
Step 4
Okay, I may or may not have forgotten to take a picture of a few steps here.
Chop the onions into small chunks. Can be done veryunevenly as in my picture hehe.
Unroll crescent roll sheet, spread feta cheese spread in a thin, even layer.
I used Athenos Tomato Basil Feta Cheese Spread, but really any spreadable cheese should work.
Add chopped onions
Layer zucchini in a thin layer. You may need to overlap depending on how much zucchini you sliced. However, no two pieces of zucchini should fully overlap. At most, they should overlap halfway.
IMG_4241
Step 5
I failed at taking a picture of the rolled pinwheel, but here is how it looks cut up. The red actual pepperoni pizza pinwheels are for the pickies aka my brother and sister. (Actually, side note, my brother liked the zucchini pizza pinwheels better than the pepperoni. Score)

Okay so now preheat your oven to 400 degrees F.
Roll up the sheet tightly
Refrigerate for 10 minutes to make it easier to cut
Cut into 2-3 inch slices and put on a grease cookie sheet
Bake for about 30-40 minutes or until pastry is golden and cooked.

IMG_4245
Done!
You’ve already seen the finished picture, but hey why not show it off again 😉

Quite lovely, am I right?

Write me a comment!!

