Pomegranate Cinnamon Oatmeal

IMG_4684

Ahh, it is finally the new year…or more specifically, the beginning of the new year. Such a time is filled with raptured promises, devoted concerns, and solid resolutions (or so we hope!). My resolution this year, as I’m sure is that of many, many, many, many (times a thousand) people all over the world, is to stay healthy and exercise! I know SO cliche. But really, for me at least, I justify overeating in the winter by saying that “it keeps me warm.” Not sure where that came from, but I rolled with it! ….Until now! And I’m kicking off the new years with a delicious and healthy breakfast….oatmeal! Oatmeal is a heart healthy food that abets the lowering of cholesterol. Now, I know we hear blank statement like these all the time. This product lowers cholesterol, lowers blood pressure, regulates your digestive system, contains antioxidants….what does that even mean?! Well, since oats are purported to lower cholesterol, let’s tackle cholesterol. [BEWARE: Long rant/lesson/rant ensues here. If you would like to skip down to the recipe I shall not be offended, my friends] My sources are my AP Bio textbook and teacher and the wonderfulAmerican Heart Association. Okay, so for starters we all NEED cholesterol, and healthy and copious amounts of it, too! Why? Cholesterol is a lipid that helps produce steroids (gasp!) But don’t worry, steroids, by definition are chemical hormones that relay signals throughout the body. So, you need cholesterol for your body to relay signals. Why is it bad then, you ask? Well, too much of a good thing is never…good, right? So, too much cholesterol can lead to the depositing of it in the wall of arteries. Clogging the arteries can lead to high blood pressure and, of course, heart disease! There’s your cholesterol lesson, but remember you do NEED cholesterol and LOTS of it!

Finally, I know! For such a long explanation, the recipe is quite short and simple. I made this with 1 minute quick oats, but feel free to use rolled oats and warm for 1-2 minutes longer

1/2 cup quick oats
Scant 1 cup water or milk (milk for creamier oats)
Generous 1/4 teaspoon truvia or sugar
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 cup pomegranate

In a lovely bowl, add oats and liquid (water or milk), warm 1 minute
Take out of microwave and stir
While avoiding the deathly steam erupting from your bowl, brace the weather to add the sweetener and cinnamon
Stir well
Just before eating, add 1/2 cup of pomegranate

The cold, juicy arils against the warm oatmeal make for such a delicious combo! Enjoy with a glass of milk or pomegranate juice!

Write me a comment!!

