Pumpkin Spice Fruit Rollup

IMG_4213

So, you guys have seen Sorted on YouTube, right? If you answered no, smack yourself on the head twice and then go visit their channel! I’m pretty much in love with the Sorted boys: they’re so wonderfully talented and funny! I love all their videos, but theirrecent fridge-cam video really caught my eye. Like come on, fruit rollups with no added sugar. The recipe fits uncannily with cooking the light way. So, naturally, I had to make it. (Sidenote: how the heck do you form the word rollups? Is there a dash, is it two words?! Someone help me!!) Anyways, somehow my kitchen was running at a paucity of ripe, fresh fruit (gasp, I know!), but what I did have was (dun dun dun) canned, pureed pumpkin. I know, I know…it sounds gross, making a fruit roll up with canned pumpkin, but I was determined to make it work!! And let me tell you, the end result was pretty darn delicious. Even though it’s well after fall, a warm, pumpkin-spiced dessert still hits the spot. Read on below for the recipe!

Note: I did veer of a little from Sorted’s tutorial to account for my different ingredients. I only had the pumpkin and unsweetened applesauce which were, well, not too sweet. Thus, I added some lovely agave!

Recipe:
1 cup canned, pureed pumpkin (not canned pumpkin pie)
1/4 cup agave nectar
1 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1/4 tsp ground ginger

Preheat oven to 175 degreesF
Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper (any pan around 17×11 inches will be optimum)
Mix pumpkin, agave, applesauce, and spices together (I used my handy, dandy magic bullet, but a simple whisk or immersion blender will do the job)
Spread evenly on the lined cookie sheet
Bake for about 6 hours or until the mixture is no longer sticky
Let it cool and with scissors cut strips through the parchment paper, roll up, and pack for snacks on the go!

Don’t they look lovely and like real fruit roll ups? Especially with the parchment paper! They are sooo good. Thanks for the idea Sorted and I can’t wait to try other fruits!!

Write me a comment!!

