Super Muffins

IMG_5009

So, the other day (well, like a week ago) my best friend’s sister, Heather, delivered a challenge to me via email.

This was a snippet of her email:
“I usually eat two muffins for breakfast at somewhere between 4am and 7am (depending on my rotation) and won’t eat lunch until somewhere between 12pm and 4pm (again, rotation dependent). I know going 12h, it is impossible for two muffins to last me that long, but shorter intervals should theoretically be able to work on two muffins. So I’m dreaming of a muffin (well two muffins) that will hold me over until lunch. And I want it to be healthy, with specific parameters – high in fiber (minimum 5g fiber for breakfast is my general goal, my two slices of toast can be up to 10g depending on the brand), high in protein, low in fat. Oh, and taste good.
Things I hate (Sarah can attest to this) – bananas and chocolate.”

Now, after reading this, I was a bit overwhelmed by one part: HOW CAN HEATHER HATE CHOCOLATE!!!! Hehe. Anyways, yeah this was quite a tall challenge! But, I was totally on it! I wanted to make something fat-free, something that keeps you full, and something delicious. I also wanted to include fruit because, well, fruit is kinda awesome with muffins. However, I wanted to make sure Heather was able to make this whenever so I utilized dried cranberries. The most difficult part was getting the fiber in and the fat out and that is why they are called super muffins. Read on below for the recipe and for Heather’s pictures!!
Shout out to Heather for inspiring me to organize my blog, too 🙂

IMG_5014

Makes 6 (this recipe is great to double, triple, quartuple?)

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1/3 cup white sugar
1 tbsp brown sugar
3 tbsp ground flax seeds (flax meal)
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup dried cranberries
1 egg
2 tbsp non fat milk
3 tbsp applesauce
1/2 cup flavored yogurt (berry is the best)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees
In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugars, flax meal, salt baking powder, baking soda and cranberries
In another bowl, mix in egg, milk, applesauce, and yogurt
Mix wet ingredients into dry ingredients
Pour into muffin tins
Bake for 25-30 minutes

Easy as pie! And look at that texture! When I bake fat-free baked goods, the texture is usually more chewy and very moist. However, these were crumbly and had just the perfect amount of moist-ness.

IMG_5016

Write me a comment!!

