Warm Chocolate Melting Cake

IMG_5178

Lots of things have cult followings: The Rocky Horror Picture Show, Doctor Who, the McRib, and lo and behold Carnival cruise line’s warm chocolate melting cake. You know, I remember 5 years ago boarding the my first cruise and eating this EVERY SINGLE DESSERT. It was a gooey, chocolate, sweet indulgence. So, when i asked my sister what she wanted for a Valentine’s Day dessert she said an actual warm chocolate melting cake (she always gets on me by saying my chocolate desserts are not chocolatey enough). Anyways, I went online searching for the Carnival cruise line recipe and I found it. I was instantly taken aback. It called for 1.5 sticks of butter, 6 oz chocolate, 4 eggs, 6 oz of sugar, and 2 oz of sugar. I did a quick calorie count and for 1 servings it was about 650 calories. OH. MY. GOSH. No way was I about to serve that to my family. So, I found a new recipe. Disclaimer: this recipe, unlike all other on the blog, is not my own. I did make a few changes, but it’s from this Taste of Home recipe. But, I just HAD to post it here because, my chocoholic sister said it was, in fact, SO chocolatey!

Recipe:
1.25 cups sugar, divided
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/8 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup water
1 tablespoon brewed coffee
1.5 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
2 eggs
1 egg white

Preheat oven to 350 degreesF
In a saucepan over low heat add 3/4 cup sugar, cocoa powder, flour, salt, water, coffee, and vanilla
Keep stirring or it will burn
Stir for about 5 minutes on low heat until thickened
Add chocolate chips and take off heat
In a large bowl beat eggs for about 3 minutes until frothy
Add 1/2 cup sugar and beat until light and creamy
Gently fold in chocolate mixture
Pour into 10 greased ramekins (it doesn’t really rise so fill her up!)
Place ramekins in a baking dish (or two, mine didn’t all fit in one) and fill the dishes with 1 inch of boiling water
Bake for 20-25 minutes (I did 22)
Enjoy with vanilla ice cream, unsweetened whip cream, or vanilla yogurt!

Write me a comment!!

