Salmon Salad

IMG_5187

What to do with 5-day-old cooked salmon? Throw it away, right? Wrong! Stored in the refrigerator, cooked salmon is generally fresh for eating for up to 1 week. Strange, huh? Well, I wasn’t about to let the salmon go to waste so I had an idea: salmon salad! I really dislike tuna salad. Canned tuna is sooo mealy, grisly, slimy, and fishy. Ew. Salmon is the perfect fish to substitute for the tuna. Cooked, it crumbles up in a similar way to the tuna. Except, it tastes fresh, not fishy, andreally flavorful! Plus, the absence of mayo and the secret ingredient in this recipe do just the trick! I made this with leftover honey mustard salmon, but you can use really any mellow, herb-y salmon (shameless plug for my slow-cooked salmon. For this particular salad mix, I would stay away from asian marinade salmons– the flavors would clash. I also served this on top of homemade whole wheat bread (recipe to come!!!) and a garlic and shallot pea puree. But really….you can have it with anything you would have tuna salad with: crackers, plain toast, by itself. Read on for the recipe and as always scroll to the next page for nutrition facts (pssst one serving is less than 100 calories!)

Recipe: (Serves 4)
8 oz cooked salmon
1/4 cup plain non-fat greek yogurt
2/3 cup chopped celery
1/4 cup chopped scallions
3 tbsp chopped yellow onion
1/2 tsp curry powder
Salt
Pepper

Use cold salmon from the fridge and “flake” it by ripping it apart with a fork. Don’t rip it apart too much because stirring the rest of the ingredients will break it down and you don’t want it too mushy.
Add celery, scallions, onion, curry powder (secret weapon!), salt, and pepper
Mix again
Be generous with the salt! It really brings out the flavors and if you eat it with bread you NEED enough salt to make it taste like anything!

So, I used curry powder in my Curried Sweet Potato Salad and it was delicious! It didn’t remind me anything of curry, it just added a certain umami. I figured that’s exactly what this salad needed. I used greek yogurt instead of mayo and didn’t want to use mustard (mustard makes everything yellow and yellow reminds me of hard-boiled egg yolks and I hate hard-boiled egg yolks…don’t ask), so the salad was begging for some richness. The curry powder does just that! My whole family loved this salad and they never, ever, ever, ever, ever eat any type of tuna/egg salad. Really.

Enjoy!!

Write me a comment!!

