Poached Pear with Vanilla Custard

IMG_6175
COLLLLLEGE. COLLEGE. CAHHHHLEGE. I’m done high school. Well, okay, not really. Four days ago I got into my dream school, Cornell. It was pretty ridiculous and crazy. I mean, I’m not gonna lie, I cried. Except, the only problem this created was that I set my mind on another school. So, now I have to make some tough decisions. But hey, at least it’s spring break wooooo! So, in anticipation of tough decisions, I’m indulging in dessert after (gasp) lunch! This dessert is light, fruity, sweet, and rich. The idea for this dessert actually come about from macarons I made last night. I made nut-free macarons with a dark chocolate buttercream. They were literally the hardest thing I’ve ever made because I had to make my own sunflower seed flour D: Yeah it was hard. But macarons in general require a lot of technique: whipping egg whites, perfecting macaronage, and piping lovely circles. And in the end, they were hollow 😦 But it’s okay. I’ll make them again! And they will be awesome yay personal pep talk woo! Anyways, so I made the macarons and had four egg yolks remaining. So, to decide what to do with them I typed: recipes with leftover egg yolks into google. Really though. [Okay, so egg yolks. Ugh, I avoid eating them just because they contain the fat of the eggs and, the worst part, a lot of cholesterol. Each egg yolk contains ~190 mg of cholesterol and we are advised to keep dietary cholesterol intake to under 300 mg. However, this recipe spreads the egg yolk through so much custard, so you’re barely eating any. Also, dietary cholesterol intake is a very insignificant amount of cholesterol in your body. Most of it is made in the liver anyways. So, don’t fret at all! This is a delicious recipe!] Anyways, yeah so I got the recipe from Food.com and made some changes. However, I followed the procedure exactly as written! So, I’m going to copy and paste the procedure and I owe it ALL to truebrit from Food.com. Oh, also keep in mind, this is a single serving recipe only because the recipe is only one poached pair, but it is SO easy to double/triple/multiply the recipe because about 1.5 cups of custard is made! Here we go:

Ingredients:

Poached Pear:
1 pear, peeled
2-3 cups water
2 tbsp fruit or wine jelly (I used chardonnay jelly)
2 tbsp agave nectar
1 dried fig, optional

Custard:
1.5 cups milks
2 tsp cornstarch
3 egg yolks
1/4 cup sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract

Start by poaching the pear!
In a kettle, bring 3 cups of water to a boil
In a microwavable bowl add 2 tbsp of your jelly
Once, the water comes to a boil, add enough into the jelly bowl so that once you put the pear in the water will cover most of it.
Combine the jelly and water until jelly dissolves
Add the pear to the water/jelly mixture
Cover with plastic wrap
Microwave for five minutes
As soon as it comes out from the microwave, refrigerate it because it is hot, hot, hot.

Now start on the custard,
[FROM FOOD.COM and TRUEBRIT]
Mix 2 tablespoons of the milk with the cornstarch in a heavy-bottomed saucepan.
When the cornstarch is dissolved, slowly add the rest of the milk and sugar, and cook over moderate heat until the sauce starts to thicken and comes to a boil.
Remove from heat.
In a small bowl, beat egg yolks with a fork.
Take a cup of the sauce, and slowly add to the eggs, beating briskly as you pour.
Return the egg/sauce mixture to the saucepan, stirring into the hot sauce.
Bring back to a boil, stirring constantly.
Remove from heat, and add the vanilla extract.

To serve, cut the bottom of the pear to create a flat bottom. Place on a small flat. Slice the fig in half and douse, cover, envelope with that velvety custard.

I really hope you enjoy this lovely dessert 🙂

Bon Appetit!

Write me a comment!!

