Sweet Kale Smoothie

IMG_6209

Dear Kale,
I used to think you were disgusting. Only because I had read that you were bitter. I know it was unwise of me to listen to rumors. I saw pictures of you on my favorite websites. I didn’t trust the pictures and words. I didn’t trust that these bloggersactually liked you. I stayed away from you when I saw you at the grocery store. Actually, I take that back…I stared at you at the grocery store, with an unwavering glare and a twitching upper lip. However, it all changed today. It turns out I was scared. I was a chicken. I should have just tried you. Because today I did. And now I love you.

That was an ode to Kale, my one, new love. Holy smokes is kale good! I first tried it in soup. I made a ham, kale, and white bean soup. Essentially, I treated it like spinach. It was amazing. In soup it didn’t turn slimy like spinach does, it held its shape, and it held its slight crisp. So, basically it was love at first taste. And now for this recipe….Okay, so, I read lots of blogs online. Blogs about food. Because that’s all that I do with my life pretty much. All of them say: “Heeeeeyyyyyyy, try kale in smoothies! Its nutrient density is off da charts! But, be warned in smoothies you can taste its bitter taste.” Today, I faced my fear and tried a kale smoothie. I put in random ingredients that I thought would mitigate the apparently strong flavor of kale. After adding all the ingredients for the first attempt in, I tried a sip and OMG. So good. It didn’t need any improvement. Well, I added extra water, but other than that the flavor was perfect. And guess what? IT DIDN’T HAVE ANY BITTER TASTE. Why bloggers did you scare the crap out of me? Anyways, I think, somehow, unbeknownst to me, the combination of flavors eliminated kale’s bitter taste. So, don’t be afraid of the color or the rumors and TRY this smoothie. See how scared I was before? Well, now I LOVE kale. So, be like me and fall in love with vegetables…it is okay.

Recipe:
1.5 cups chopped kale
1 frozen banana
1 kiwi
1 cup water
1 tbsp ground flax
1 tbsp agave nectar

Blend ’em all up in your blender of choice (I used my Vitamix erm Magic Bullet [shameless plug to my mom to buy me a Vitamix] for this and it worked perfectly)
Yeah, that’s it.
Drink up!

Write me a comment!!

