Fat-free Dulce de Leche

IMG_6218

You know, there are some days I wish I could switch the concept of dessert and meals with each other. So, we would eat desserts as meal portions and the traditional savory meals as desserts. If that doesn’t make sense, it’s alright…it just means you’re normal. This Spring Break has been so great. I mean, we didn’t go anywhere sure, but that means I had more time to cook!! Being home allows me to cook things that require lots of time in the oven and lots of hands on work. I think I mentioned it before, but I made macarons!! And I also made another one of my favorite little mini dessert things….this fat-free dulce de leche! Okay, so have you all seen that food hack where you stick a full can of sweetened condensed milk in a crockpot and just leave it there and then it magically turns into solid, thick, creamy dulce de leche? (By the way, sorry if these sentences seem choppy; I’m watching Ree Drummond make creme brulee ahhhh) Well, this is my version of that. I made up a little switches to make it safer, yes, SAFER. Sticking an aluminum can in a hot pot is dangerous. Think of all the substances that have the possibility of leeching into the condensed milk while it’s being warmed for so long. So, I did a few little tricks and used fat-free condensed milk and it works like a charm! Serve this cookies, fruit, or, you know, a spoon 🙂

Ingredients:
1 14.5oz can fat-free sweetened condensed milk

Recipe:
Preheat oven to 425 degreesF
Prepare two dishes for a water bath
Fill bottom dish with hot water
Then, after that, fill top dish with condensed milk
Fill the condensed milk after filling the water. I’ve had bad experiences with pouring water into the condensed milk by accident in attempt to fill the bottom dish. Yikes…
Cover top dish with aluminum foil
Bake for 45 minutes or until the milk is that golden brown color!
Warning: it will be lumpy and disgusting looking. You will think that you messed up. You will think that there is no way it will turn smooth. Fear not. It’s supposed to look like that! It’s caramelized and thick and goopy! Just whisk for about a minute to get it nice and smooth.

So, sit back in a comfy couch, with a good book, a spoon, and a bottle of this creamy, rich dulce de leche!

Write me a comment!!

