Spinach Kale Smoothie

IMG_6429

So, it’s 11 p.m. on a Wednesday night. I had no school today, because the juniors had to take the SAT (muahaha, I am done that crap!). Right now, I’m watching Hell’s Kitchen (who knew Chef Ramsay’s explicit profanity could be so darn addicting….) and writing this post. I was just too excited to wait until tomorrow! This morning I woke up and completed my scones. I bought the Bouchon Bakery cookbook about two weeks ago. (I’m obsessed with Thomas Keller and Sebastian Rouxel. You have celebrity crushes, I chef crushes ahhh) Anyways, so, far I’ve just made double chocolate chunk cookies, which were divine. This week, I tried my hand at the scones. The recipe is a 3 day process. Soaking dried cherries in alcohol overnight, making and freezing the dough with the cherries for another night, then finally baking! So, this morning I baked. I had a little trouble with baking time, but, you know, I’m going to try the recipe again until I get it right. YAY for perseverance. Anyways, apart from taste-testing freshly baked buttery scones, I decided to use the box of kale in my fridge! There are so many things to with kale, but I’m so partial to smoothies/juices after my last experience with them, which you can read about here. Therefore, I did make a smoothie! But I put a twist on it….by adding spinach! I know, I know…it sounds gross, but really, it’s not. Spinach actually has really no flavor in smoothies; it just adds bulk and, well, color! This smoothie is SO good and keeps you so full!

Recipe:
1/2 cup packed kale
1/2 cup packed spinach leaves
1/2 cup water
1/2 frozen banana
1 frozen strawberry
1/2 tsp sweetener of choice

Blend everything together in a blender, magic bullet, vitamix, whatever you like!
The frozen keeps it cold and thick sooo ENJOY!

Write me a comment!!

