Chocolate Pavlova Cookies

IMG_6753

Wow, have I been MIA. No, seriously, I totally have. I don’t think I’ve posted in about 2 weeks. But I can explain why! My excuse reason is: 5 AP tests, 1 college final, and 1 senior exam. So, this week and last I’ve had to take tests in AP Calc, Literature, Bio, Latin, and (tomorrow!) Government. FUN. This Friday I have a Nutrition final and next Monday I have a physics final. WHY. Now, I realize no one cares about my exam life, but I think it’ll help to explain why this post may be so emotionally charged (epic stress from 7 tests in 15 days). Anyways, this is post is so fitting as a dessert because that’s practically what I’ve been eating making the past few weeks (Man, I am loving that strikethrough and, yes, I am ashamed by the copious amounts of dessert leaving my kitchen). But, remember, everything is okay in moderation! And moderation is the name of this dessert (Actually, it’s chocolate pavlova cookies, but who’s checking). Okay, so you may be thinking: what they hey, a chocolate pavlova cookie? Isn’t it just a cake? What’s up with the cookie form? Why am I thinking in so many questions? These are made with a normal pavlova recipe, but are piped into smaller circles and skip the normal resting process of a pavlova, resulting in a flatter pavlova, but still crisp on the outside and fluffy on the inside. Plus, it’s chocolate so bam.

Makes 10-12 cookies
3 egg whites (room temperature)
1/2 cup granulated sugar
3 tbsp cocoa powder
2 tsp balsamic vinegar
1 tsp vanilla extract
Pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 275 degreesF
In a food processor, blend up the sugar for about 10 seconds, until it is superfine
In a stand mixer (or hand mixer works), beat the 3 egg whites until they are holding glossy soft peaks
At this point, with the mixer still beating, slowly add the sugar in 2 tbsp at a time, until stiff, dry peaks are reached and the sugar is finished
Now, turn of the mixer, and gently fold in the cocoa powder, balsamic vinegar, vanilla extract, and salt until combined
On a parchment paper lined pan, spoon out circular dollops- 3 inches in diameter and 1 inch tall. You will get about 10-12, depending on how uniform the circles are and, er, how much batter you eat.
Bake for about 35 minutes until the edges are crisp
[Now at this point, you would open up the oven door just a smidge and let the pavlova rest in the oven for a few hours]
INSTEAD
Open the oven door just a smidge and leave it for 15 minutes (only 15, not 19283848!!!)
In the meantime, chop up some fruit (berries go great with the chocolate) and smooth out some plain fat-free greek yogurt (it cuts the sweetness)
After 15 minutes, take ’em on out!
This will cause them to crackle a bit and fall. That’s okay. They’re cookies hehe.
EAT.
^^ Yes, that’s the last direction I have.
Have fun, be healthy, and eat good food!

Write me a comment!!

