Blueberry Banana Bread

IMG_6494

Someone, please tell me what my life is right now. It’s 2:06 a.m., I’m sitting on my bed, my iTunes is on shuffle, Felix Mendelssohn’s Wedding March is playing, and I’m writing a blog post about Blueberry Banana Bread. Don’t judge. Anyways, I had a mini panic attack. I realized that I haven’t blogged in like…a month…MORE than a month! It’s because of…graduation! Yup, that is right, I am done high school!!!!! YAY multiple exclamation points!!!! But no seriously, I’m really excited. So, this panic attack had two phases. The first one, as I said, was realizing I hadn’t blogged in so long. The second phase is realizing that I won’t be able to blog for another 3 weeks because of various vacations/commitments/life problems. Thus, the 2:06 a.m., well, now, 2:10 a.m. blog post (wow it took me that long to type that). Anyways, so this recipe is literally the best. Yes, that was so non-descriptive and vague that I will elaborate now. There is no added fat in this bread! No butter, no oil! I mean, sure, there’s eggs, but, come on, no added fat!! What compensates is creamy greek yogurt mmmmm. Rather than applesauce, greek yogurt yields an actual crumb. Applesauce in baked goods tends to make it really, not sure how to say this, but creamy? The greek yogurt in this recipe mimics sour cream…which is awesome because sour cream adds a moist crumb and a good density to baked goods. I’m rambling, I know…sorry. Okay, read the recipe, make it, and let me know!

IMG_6496Oh, yeah I forgot I put that picture here. But, seriously, who wasn’t dying to see that baby out of the tin?

Recipe:

1.75 cups whole wheat pastry flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

1/4 tsp ground ginger

1/8 tsp ground cloves

1.5 cups mushed banana

1/4 cup white sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

1.5 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup fat-free greek yogurt

3/4 cup wild blueberries, frozen or fresh (wild blueberries have less water and don’t burst in your baked goods, but honestly any blueberries will do)

I have no idea why there is space between each ingredient, my b.

Preheat oven to 350 degreesF

Anyways, mix the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and spices together

Toss the blueberries in 2 tbsp of the flour mixture (keeps it from sinking in da batter)

Mix the sugar, eggs, vanilla, yogurt, and bananas

Slowly add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients

DO NOT overstir! Stir until JUST combined. YES I will OVERUSE the caps because this is CRUCIAL to know

Now, GENTLY stir in the blueberries

Add to a greased loaf tin and bake for about 1 hour

Test that a toothpick comes out clean OR use my fav new test: the bounce test. Hit the loaf (okay well poke it with your finger), if it “bounces” back and does not leave an indent, it’s done. If an indent of your finger is left, leave it in for longer and keep checking.

You should try waiting for it to cool, but like it’s blueberry banana bread so have a go at it.

Enjoy 🙂

Also, time check 2:21 HA. That’s the fastest I’ve ever written a blog post. Usually they take…longer.

If you’d like to see other “bread” recipes I have on the blog, click the pictures below!

IMG_3591IMG_3852

Write me a comment!!

