Flourless Speculoos Spread Cookies

IMG_7989

Omg I’m back. Literally I have not been in the kitchen for a month minus 5 days…so like about 25 days…whaaaat. In my world, that’s way too long. Here’s a little background to what I was up to! First, I went to China for about 2 weeks! The food was just sublime.

IMG_7373

There’s a picture of some gnarly fish mmmm.

IMG_7135

This is Jan Bing, the ultimate Beijing streetfood snack/breakfast! It’s a soft pancake filled with crispy fried cracker, cilantro, green onions, and plum sauce YUM. We went from Beijing to Shanghai to Yangshuo. The food went from tourist attractions (like BUGS) in Beijing to dumplings in Shanghai to rice noodles in Yangshuo. I accomplished my quest to eat weird things! I ate a grasshopper, snake meat, pig hoof, and chicken feet. They were good, no lie!!! Life’s too short to pass up a taste of something delicious. Okay, next I went to Canada for about a week! Sadly, I have no pictures to post. I was pictured-out from China. But anyways, as I said: life’s too short to pass up a taste of something delicious. THIS IS WHY YOU CANNOT PASS UP THIS RECIPE.

IMG_7986

It’s flourless and has MINIMAL added sugar and no added butter or oil AND uses egg whites. Now come on, there’s no reason not to try this… So, let’s talk about the principal ingredient first: the speculoos cookie spread. This stuff is heaven in a jar. It’s like a gingersnap cookie in peanut butter consistency form. I got my jar from TJ’s. Okay, so I have this spread, now the question is WHAT DO I DO WITH IT. I mean, there’s only so much you can shovel into your mouth before your mouth starts permanently tasting like Christmas. So, I thought HEY COOKIES WHY NOT. I looked up recipes and all that came up was heavy butter-laden cookies flavored by the spread. But the thing about the spread is that it does have fat, so why add fat to fat? That’s why I concocted this recipe! It’s simple, easy, delicious, and a light version of a yummy dessert. But being a light version does not mean it tastes like that! It’s like the perfect cookie: crispy edges and a soft, chewy center. I mean, it doesn’t look like a typical cookie, it looks like a crispy gingersnap, but it’s chewy, crispy, and decadent. Trust me! The ingredient list is soo simple, the recipe is mostly in the technique! Come on, have a go, you know you want to 🙂

Recipe: (Makes 9 1.5 inch cookies)

1 egg white
1/4 cup speculoos cookie spread
3 tbsp granulated white sugar
Pinch of salt
Pinch of cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees
With an electric mix, beat egg white and salt together until soft peaks form
Slowly add the sugar in while beating to stiff dry peaks
Now add in the soft speculoos spread and cinnamon
Beat the spread in until it is evenly combined
Yes, the mixture will deflate a lot and will be soup
Spoon teaspoonfuls on a parchment paper lined sheet
Bake in the oven for 13-15 minutes
It should look NICELY browned!
They will feel soft and rubbery when out of the oven, but let them cool a little and they’ll be perfect!

Enjoy and let me know how it is!

Write me a comment!!

