Lovely Sour Cream Lemon Bars

IMG_8441

I’m on a challenge. It’s slightly self-issued and slightly mandated by my mother. It’s a challenge to finish up our food storages before I go to college. Because, really, after that, who else will? Okay, so here are a few things you should understand about our food storage. We have not only 1 fridge and freezer, but two. The insides of the freezer are stocked with various frozen fruits, cheeses (yeah, you can freeze them!), and sauces. So, I must deplete those stores. But, oh wait, I forgot to mention the TWO pantries full of dry ingredients. So, yeah, I admit I have a problem when I go to the grocery store. I buy stuff… a lot of it….and it goes in storage. There are pastas, different types of grains, cookies, and much more. One of my “worst” purchases is a bulk box of graham crackers. Like the 6 pack of graham cracker boxes from Costco. I really don’t know what I was thinking….6 boxes of graham crackers. OTHER THAN SMORES FOR EVERY MEAL WHAT DO YOU DO WITH THAT. Well, using up graham crackers was my mission today and I made a nonconventional graham cracker crust to go with these lovely lemon bars. And they were delicioso. Mission accomplished. Anyways….

It’s not often recipes go straight from the oven to the computer. These lovely lemon bars have hit that mark.

“Oh, these are good,” is a direct quote from my sister who rarely compliments a dish unless it’s up to her super high standards. So, I like to think this hits the bar. Also, my mother took nagging to a new level when she nagged my little brother to actually eat dessert. Go figure. Anyways, these are not your average lemon bars; they are lovely lemon bars. What makes them so lovely, you ask? They’re THICK, unlike most basic bars, and FLUFFY, unlike most basic bars. But even while being thick and fluffy, they’re still gelatinous and totally reminiscent of those thin lemon bars you are thinking of. Except for the graham cracker crust!

IMG_8440

Yum, look at that full shot. These are so soft and fluffy, cutting while warm becomes really tricky. (Day 2 observation, cutting while cold is soo much easier and yields clean lines YESSS)

IMG_8442

I took two bites out of that piece. They were delicious. But look at that ratio of lemony goodness to crispy crust….perfection!


IMG_8443

This shot is so you can see the fluffiness. I’m *not* ashamed of posting four pictures of these hehe.

Recipe: (1 8×8 or 9×9 pan)

2 cups graham cracker crumbs
1/4 cup melted butter
1 tbsp sugar

1 cup + 2 tbsp sugar
Zest of 2 lemons
1/4 cup + 2 tbsp lemon juice
1/4 tsp lemon extract
5 tbsp all purpose flour
7 tbsp low-fat sour cream
3 eggs
1/2 tsp baking powder
Pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
In a food processor or in a large bowl, mix together graham cracker crumbs, melted butter, and sugar
Pack into the bottom of a parchment paper lined dish
Bake crust for 15 minutes or until edges are browned
While crust is baking, in a large bowl add the next ingredients in the order listed. So, add the sugar, then lemon zest, then lemon juice, etc. (I find that adding eggs and lemons and letting them sit “cooks” the eggs because of the acid and makes them smell funky, so that’s why I put eggs in at the last possible moment)
Mix well until everything is combined
When crust comes out of the oven, pour the mixture onto the hot crust
Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes
Lower oven to 325 for about another 20 minutes
It will be done when the edges turn brown/the mixture is set and not liquidy/a toothpick hits a relatively set center

So, I just typed let cool before cutting, but let’s be real…we’re all going to dig right into this πŸ™‚ Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Lovely Sour Cream Lemon Bars

Write me a comment!!

