Spice Cupcakes

IMG_0575

Lol, I fake hate seasonal recipes. Okay, so let me deconstruct that sentence. “Fake hate” means I love hating on something, but I truly don’t hate it…oftentimes I don’t even dislike it, so there’s that. Now, you know seasonal recipes. Like berry trifles during the summer, peppermint bark during the winter, citrus macarons in the spring, and spice cupcakes in the fall. So, my issue with seasonal recipes is that people feel that they can ONLY make/eat/crave them during that particular season. WRONG. I’m posting these spice cupcakes in January for all of you that missed the short period of time where people eat spice flavored things i.e. after Halloween to Thanksgiving.


IMG_0572

Okay, don’t hate me, but this recipe doesn’t include a recipe for the cinnamon frosting because I rarely use a real recipe for frosting. I just dump everything in a bowl, beat it with my hand mixer, and cross my fingers. For reference though, I used cream cheese, powdered sugar, cinnamon, a dash of vanilla, and some vegetable shortening.

So, anyways, these are a lightened version because they only use 1/3 cup of oil and absolutely no butter! This is because they use pumpkin puree in place of extra fat. Okay, I avoided calling these pumpkin cupcakes because you really can’t taste the pumpkin because of the spices. I can attest to this because my sister hates pumpkin. Pumpkin bread, pumpkin cake, pumpkin rolls, pumpkin spiced lattes… IT ALL. So, that’s why I just call these spice cupcakes 🙂

IMG_0577

Recipes: (Makes 12 cupcakes)

1 cup all purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/8 tsp ground cloves
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1/3 cup vegetable oil
3/4 cup pumpkin puree
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees
In a medium sized bowl, mix together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and spices
In a large bowl, mix together sugar and oil until combined, then add pumpkin puree, eggs, and vanilla until smooth
Add dry ingredients into wet ingredients and mix until just combined (do not overmix!)
Transfer batter to lined or greased muffin tins
Bake for 23-25 minutes or until top springs back when you touch it

Cool, frost, and enjoy your timeless cupcake the light way xox

Write me a comment!!

